Living Loving Learning

Bible Graffiti

In Uncategorized on Thursday, November 20, 2008 at 9:52 am

I mark up my Bible . . .  A LOT.  There’s nothing better (for me) than looking back at passages that stuck out to me at one time, or to easily find something on a particular subject that I marked before.  I have a method to my madness though.  Through the years of Bible studies, reading Christian authors and just plain experimenting with a method that works for me, I have come up with some codes to keep things right at my fingertips when trying to find something in the Bible.  Unfortunately I don’t remember where some of these came from, so I can’t give the right credit, but many of these I adapted myself.  Here is some of my coding:

 

On a new Bible I highlight the chapter number after I have read it.  Ahh . . .  the feeling of completing a new Bible and seeing all those pretty markings on all the chapters throughout the Bible. 

 

When a particular passage sticks out to me I either highlight, underline or put brackets around it.  Don’t ask me my method there.

 

There are certain words like faith and hope that I circle.

 

When it talks about love I put a heart.

 

When it talks about Jesus on the cross I draw a cross with a heart in the middle.

 november2002312

When it’s a direct promise about life I put BP, for “Bible Promise”.

 november2002211

When it talks about something to do with children or generations I put a little stick figure by it.

 

When it’s something about a wife it gets the “special” pink highlighter.

 

When it’s about a husband or marriage in general it gets the double wedding rings.

 november2001911

Sometimes I cross out the word “you” and put “Erin”.

 

Sometimes I circle and put “For Me”.  I like to put the date on stuff like that so I can look back and think about what I was going through in that time of my life.

 

Other times I journal about what’s going on in my life, of course with the date.

 

Ok, that’s the art that I give my Bible. 

 

What graffiti do you leave in your Bible?

  img_9591-1

 

Erin

  1. Oh man. My bible is so marked up. And its falling apart. I got one of those highlighters with the tabs in the end, you know, so I have lots of red flags coming off the side. I sort of use Kay Arthur markings, but I make up my own too. And I write notes in it. My two oldest girls have different translations and if their wording makes more sense and speaks to me I write that out next to it. I write history notes, commentary, just anything down.

  2. The only markings I use are dating and highlighting. I also write prayers in the margins of my bible. I think I might adopt some of yours. 🙂

  3. I am an underliner. I really like the idea to circle and date passages that are “For Me” at that moment. What an amazing way to see how God speaks to us?!

  4. I love to mark up my Bible as well… I never thought about pictures… haha! You’re funny!

    See you tonight!

  5. Sorry I’m not very good at drawing. After looking at the double wedding rings it kind of looks like a butt. Well, it is beside the word husband . . . J/K 😉

  6. I color mine. I like the symbol idea though. I think I will leave the butt out. LOL

  7. I journal a lot also…what you said about putting down the date is so important. I always regret it later when I forget to put the date. It makes life more astonishing when we can see WHEN God did an amazing work.

Leave a Reply

